Cic edizioni internazionali
Clinical Cases in mineral and bone metabolism

Instructions

Author Guidelines

All articles published by CCMBM are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication, without subscription charges or registration barriers.

Open Access users shall have the right to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search or link to the full texts of articles.

Manuscripts should be sent in two copies to the Editor-in-Chief: Maria Luisa Brandi, M.D., Ph.D., Department of Internal Medicine,
University of Florence, Viale Pieraccini, 6 - 50139 Florence, Italy. Fax +39 055 2337867.
E-mail: m.brandi@dmi.unifi.it.


Manuscripts should be submitted usig the on-line submission and manuscript tracking system at http://author.ccmbm.com
To simplify the typesetting process and speed up the processing of the manuscript, text, tables and figures, prepared using Word for Windows or Macintosh, they should also be submitted in electronic format (DVD or CD) or by e-mail. High resolution illustrations (graphs included) should be submitted in TIF, JPG or EPS format, or in original prints of such good quality that they can be photographed.
The Journal reserves the right to alter the manuscripts where necessary to make them conform with the stylistic and bibliographical conventions of the Journal.
It is implicitly accepted by the Authors that all manuscripts will, upon publication, become the artistic and literary property of the Journal. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any form or by any means – electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or other – without the written permission of the Publisher. Whenever the manuscript is subsequently cited, the Journal must be cited as the original source.
Papers reporting experiments on humans must record the fact that the procedures were carried out in accordance with the Helsinki Declaration of 1975, and the 1983 revision of the same.
Page proofs will be corrected by the Authors, who undertake to return them promptly to the Editorial Office. If they are not received within 15 days of being sent to the Authors, they will be corrected by the Editorial Office directly.
The first or corresponding Author(s) will receive, together with the proofs, notification of the cost of any reprints.
The papers will be complimentarily published with the exception of any eventual coloured photographs, which will be charged to the Authors.

Patient Anonymity and lnformed Consent
It is the Author's responsibility to ensure that a patient's anonymity is carefully protected and to verify that any experimental investigation with human subjects reported in the manuscript was performed with informed consent and following all the guidelines for experimental investigation with human subjects required by the institution(s) with which all the Authors are affiliated. Identifying information within written descriptions, photographs, or pedigrees should not be published. If such information is included as essential scientific information, the Authors must submit written consent of the patient, parent, or guardian as applicable to be published in the Journal. Authors should mask patients' eyes and remove patients' names from figures.

Ethical/Legal Considerations
A submitted manuscript must be an original contribution not previously published (except as an abstract or preliminary report), must not be under consideration for publication elsewhere, and, if accepted, must not be published elsewhere in similar form, in any language, without the consent of the editor. Each person listed as an Author is expected to have participated in the study to a significant extent. Although the editors and referees make every effort to ensure the validity of published manuscripts, the final responsibility rests with the Authors, not with the Journal, its editors, or the publisher.

Ethical review
The editors and the publisher support the principles of the Declaration of Helsinki, and expect the authors of papers submitted to the journal to have obtained ethical consent and followed all legal and regulatory requirements for human experimentation with drugs, including informed consent, applicable in their institution and country.

Type of Manuscript
Succinct and carefully prepared papers are favored in terms of impact as well as readability. Different categories of papers are published. Although Authors are invited to submit manuscripts in particular categories, the editors reserve the right to determine in which category a paper is ultimately published, according to the following criteria.

Articles
Articles are definitive and comprehensive descriptions of major research findings of broad significance for readers of Clinical Cases in Mineral and Bone Metabolism. The results described should be both novel and of wide interest. Articles may be of any length and may contain as many display items as appropriate for the subject matter.

Brief reports
Usually describe one to three patients or a single family. The text is limited to 2000 words, a maximum of 3 tables and figures (total), and up to 25 references. They do not include an abstract.
Clinical case discussions
Manuscripts consider the step-by-step process of clinical decision making. Information about a patient is presented to an expert clinician(s) in stages to simulate the way such information emerges during clinical practice. The clinician responds as new information is presented, sharing his or her reasoning with the reader. The text should not exceed 2500 words, and there should be no more than 20 references. The use of clinical illustrative materials, such as x-ray films, is encouraged.


Clinical vignettes
Are classic images of common medical conditions. Visual images are an important part of what we do and learn in medicine. This feature is intended to capture the sense of visual discovery and variety that physicians experience.

Clinical trials
Articles are evidence-based results of clinical trials relevant to practicing physicians, both primary care providers and specialists. These studies are scrutinized for the strength of the hypothesis, the rigor of the experimerital design, the evaluation and interpretation of the data, and the clinical implications of the study. In addition, clinical trials are subjected to a separate statistical reviewer. Articles detail the pharmacology and the use of specific drugs used to treat particular diseases. Because the essence of Clinical Trials articles is the evolution of therapeutic intervention, the Journal expects that the Authors of such articles will not have financial associations with a company (or competitor) that makes a product discussed in the article.

Perspectives
Perspectives provide background and context for an article in the issue in which they appear. Perspectives are limited to 800 words and usualIy include an illustration. There are no reference citations.

Commentaries
Usually provide commentary and analysis concerning an article in the issue of the Journal in which they appear. They may include an illustration or table. They are nearly always solicited, although occasionally, unsolicited proposals may be considered. Commentaries are limited to 1200 words, with up to 5 references.

Mini-reviews
Mini-reviews are published by invitation only. However, proposals may be submitted in the form of a brief letter to the editors at any time. The letter should state the topic and Authors of the proposed review, and why the topic is of particular interest in the field.

Book reviews
Are generally solicited. We are willing to consider proposals for book reviews, but please contact the editorial office before submitting a review.

credits